Silly Question but...

edited May 2008 in Music Industry 2.0
I notice that on JoCo's music page some but not all of the songs are playable from within the info link. Suppose I wanted to send a noob here to listen to a specific song without making them scroll through a bunch of songs? Say, Stroller Town for instance. Is there anyway to do that?

[Edited by Bry to change thread categories -- maybe it's the wrong category now, but hey, any excuse to fill this category out.]

Comments

• BryBry
    edited May 2008
    Well, the reason Stroller Town's not streamable from the info link is because it's a free download, I think is how it works. And I think the rest of them that aren't streamed are not streamed for the same reason.
  • edited May 2008
    If you wanted to do a little extra work, you could view the source of the Music page and find the direct link to the .mp3 of the song you're interested in. For example, the direct link to Stroller Town is: http://www.jonathancoulton.com/mp3/Stroller Town.mp3 (note the space in the .mp3's title).
  • yeah but I like sending them to the info page because they can read along with the lyrics all in one easy link.
  • It would be great to be able to see the lyrics while listening to the songs....for all of the songs. For some reason I'm stuck on "Blue Raincoat" lately and it's easier to play & sing along when you can see the words (you can w/ this song). Weird this came up today because I was thinking about this same thing about four hours ago.
  • Well, for the songs that don't stream, you don't even need to view source, since they're provided as free downloads from the details page (i.e. there's a link directly to the mp3). But there doesn't seem to be a good solution, other than telling them just to download the mp3 file or open it in another tab or window or something...