Introduce Yourself

Comments

• edited June 2008
    Welcome to the forums, LilMaurader!

I'm actually studying English/Dutch linguistics and literature in uni. :)

Cool to have another language nut in here, next to the residential nuts. ^^
  • please feel free to jerk that or any thread violently back on-topic at will. we usually manage to continue the conversation in a more appropriate location.
  • @LilMarauder: I ended up bringing both cameras, but I´ve only used the digital one so far - I just haven´t brought myself to drag the big one about. We´ll see.

Also - welcome! I´m looking forward to you fancy pants dance, just because the title sounds so cool (and, you know, you´re probably at least somewhat talented).
  • @LilMarauder and dantes -- go linguistics! Got my BA from UCBerkeley in 1996 -- not very useful, but so much fun (phonetics was my special-ity)
  • Prepare for linguistics-talk from me soon as today I start preparing for my Introduction to (Text-) Linguistics exam on june 16.
  • oh jeez. phonetics.

I took an intro-to-linguistic-analysis class last semester. it seemed a little ... irrelevant.

I mean, it's all very fun to make syntax trees (seriously, it was fun), but ultimately, what's the point?

Okay, so I totally just discovered I can get WiFi by the window in the living room, so I may be on more frequently now. (Or I may not, I'm still kind of busy.) Regardless, I started a blog about all my exciting adventures in Argentina (and, you know, the less exciting stuff) that is located at http://its-winter-in-july.blogspot.com. Drop by sometime. I kind of wrote the first eight entries today because I didn't write anything at all last week, and so they'll probably go up kind of fast so I can get caught up, so you might have to dig your way through them if you're trying to actually read it all. Sorry.