Cruise game room newb

edited February 2013 in JoCo Cruise
Good evening sea monkeys!

I've been on JCCC1, and JCCC3.  I play tons of games...both board, and video.  But I tend to not play the D&D style board games (I play lots of those in video form).  So my question for JCCC4, so i don't feel like a complete noob, and can feel comfortable sitting down in the game room....

...what should I be playing this year in anticipation?  What's the fun game that everybody loves to play in the game room on the cruise? I feel I'm missing out on an integral part of the experience, and want to make the game room a haunt of mine next year.

Thanks!

Comments

• Well there seemed to be good games going of some of the looney lab games (fluxx, ice Pyramid). Another good one to try is Lord of Waterdeep which is not a difficult D&D game to learn. 

What you really need to look at is what games do you like playing? Make sure you bring it on board and let folks know you would like to play. That way you may introduce others to games that they had not played before.
  • Have you watched TableTop? I'd say that's a good start
  • Good to hear. Love tabletop, and feel am already prepared then. Thanks sea monkeys.
  • Personally, I aim to play games that I haven't played before.  It may be something from TableTop, or high on the BGG list, or something I've only heard of, or even never heard of.  The cruise is great for that, because (in theory) someone who knows how to play brought the game, so they can help teach it.

I also like teaching others how to play games I'm familiar with.

You won't be behind the curve, ever.  You may be able to play one of the really long 4+ hour games like Arkham Horror, Talisman, or Ecplise.  You can always pick up something like CAH, Fluxx or Zombie Dice very quickly.  And there are all sorts of games in between that will see plays - Red November, Pandemic, Ticket to Ride, Dominion, Lords of Waterdeep, and several more.