Glee is the Answer When Questions Are Wrong: That Glee Thing

Comments

• Caleb, if there are pops there, well, pops are often evidence of a clumsy editing where the cut and paste did not take place at a zero crossing. So, could be!
  • edited January 2013
    I have been trying some of the same tricks with similar results (though my tools aren't as good for these particular things as @paulrpotts' and @Caleb's, so their processed tracks are more impressive). BTW, "center-canceling" is one of the tricks used by vocal strippers to remove vocals from finished recordings. Some of them let you pan around a little, in case the singer isn't perfectly centered.
  • Hm. Understand that I'm no audio engineer, but I've got a decent ear.

So I just listend to @paulrpotts' posted mashups, and on the JoCo Karaoke vs Glee track, I'm not in the slightest bit convinced that Glee didn't also use JoCo's backup vocal track, maybe tried to EQ it down a smidge, and overlaid their own backing vocals, primarily the higher-register parts. The bass backing vocal sounds EXACTLY THE SAME to me. I sing bass/baritone, so my ear not only picks up on those registers easily, I can distinguish between different voices singing the same part.

These are not different voices. They're the same voice. My testimony to that effect wouldn't hold up in court, but I'm as sure of it as I can possibly be. The instrumental evidence is also pretty clear-cut to me, and Paul and @Caleb have done a masterful job of digging through all that.
  • #109 at almost 2am Monday morning