Beginning the ukulele

edited June 2011 in JoCo Music
Thanks to my most generous family, I was recently blessed with a ukulele. Knowing that there are ukulelelelelelist around here, I thought I'd seek advice... which JoCo-songs lend themselves well to the ukulele for a beginner? Also which non-JoCo standards would be a good start?
I've plenty of guitar-experience, I should mention, so I know my way around frets and strings, I just need to get familiar with ukulele-chords and -strumming.

Comments

• I find, as a beginner myself, that Furry Old Lobster is pretty easy to learn on the uke. It doesn't have many chords in it, and most of them are quite easy ones too.

Plus, it's such a fun song to sing.
  • It's been a little while since I've played much JoCo (or anything really) on a uke, but I remember playing Re Your Brains a lot (although the bridge switches to barre chords. Yuck.)
  • I find that most JoCo songs sound good on the uke. Which is always testament to a good song if it passes the uke test. One of my favorites is The Future Soon.
  • I'm also a beginner. My uke repertoire currently consists of JoCo's "Better" and "Always the Moon" (strumming only) and Cynthia Hopkins' "Surrounded by Friendship," which I learned via Hodgman. (Chord charts for that here.) Also, Molly told me that The Beatles' "Something" is a good beginner song.
  • BTW, Alistair Wood, of the Ukulele Blog, Uke Hunt is coming out with a "Ukulele for Dummies" book in august. Check out this link. It looks like it's going to be a great book covering a lot of ground, in fact I don't think I've ever seen a book this comprehensive before. I know Alistair from forums and his blog and if this book is as helpful and informative as he is there it'll be great.
  • Can this be a general Ukulele thread?

What do you recommend for someone who has no idea what sort of uke to get?